Select Page

Legislative Committee

The Legislative Committee shall be composed of eight members, representing each of the geographic regions identified in Section 1.  The two most recent active Past Presidents will serve as ex officio members.  The committee may recommend to the Board of Directors that new legislation be initiated.  The committee shall review all pending legislation which may influence member schools, professional members, or the MPA.  When appropriate, the committee shall present oral and/or written testimony to the Legislature.  The committee shall also be responsible for developing and presenting resolutions that reflect statements of position on educational issues in prekindergarten through grade twelve.  The committee will periodically review existing resolutions.  Revisions to existing resolutions as well as new resolutions will be forwarded to the Board of Directors.  The Board will either return the Resolution to the committee or will forward it to the professional membership for a vote by means established by the Board.

2021 1 Kim Silsby Admin Cony Middle/High School kim.silsby@augustaschools.org
2021 1 Mark Hatch Admin Messalonskee Middle School mhatch@rsu18.org
2021 1 Kerri Wyman Admin Central Community Elementary School kwyman@rsu64schools.org
2021 1 Nicholas Gannon Admin Capital Area Technical Center ngannon@augustaschools.org
2020 2 John Suttie Admin Old Orchard Beach High School jsuttie@rsu23.org
2020 2 Scott Gordon Admin Old Town High School scott.gordon@rsu34.org
2020 1 Shawna Kurr Admin Boothbay Region Elementary School skurr@aos98schools.org
2022 2 Bill Tracy Admin Hampden Academy bill.tracy@rsu22.us
Ex officio   Matthew Gilbert Admin Past President mgilbert@rsu10.org
Ex officio   Dan Welch Admin Past President dwelch@csd3-brhs.org

Staff Person:  Holly Couturier

* Denotes Chair

Share This